de Tocqueville Society

Seventy years after Pierre Laclede and Auguste Chouteau founded St. Louis, another Frenchman added to our very rich heritage. In Democracy in America, social historian Alexis de Tocqueville took special note of Americans’ generosity toward one another.

The de Tocqueville Society – named in honor of the man who recognized one of our greatest strengths and shared that knowledge with the world – was formed here in 1987. Composed of philanthropists who contribute an annual gift of $10,000 or more to United Way, the spirit of caring is ever-present in this generous group of donors.

Benefits of de Tocqueville Society Membership

  • Opportunity to give back to our community and region
  • Invitations to quarterly events sponsored by Northwestern Mutual (dates subject to change):
    • Thursday, March 1, 2018
      Breakfast – 7:30 to 9 a.m.
      Frontenac Hilton
      Guest speaker Bob Fox and Judge Jimmie Edwards
    • Thursday, May 17, 2018
      Breakfast – 7:30 to 9 a.m.
      Frontenac Hilton
      Guest speaker President James Bullard
    • Thursday, September 6, 2018
      Campaign Kickoff Breakfast – 7:30 to 9 a.m.
      Frontenac Hilton
      Guest speaker TBD
    • Thursday, December 6, 2018
  • Special recognition and invitation to the de Tocqueville Society thank you event
  • Invitations to exclusive events sponsored by de Tocqueville Society leaders
 de Tocqueville Society
  • Member Circle $10,000
  • Silver Circle $15,000
  • William E. Maritz Circle $25,000
  • Chapman Circle $50,000
  • Diamond Circle $75,000
  • Alexis de Tocqueville Circle $100,000
  • Million Dollar Roundtable $1,000,000

For more information about the de Tocqueville Society, please contact Kate Tansey at or 314-539-4108, or Jamie Clark at or 314-539-4106.



2018 de Tocqueville Society Strategy Team
John Beuerlein
General Partner, Edward Jones
2018 Chair

Mark Darrell, Spire
Vivian Darrell
Sharon John, Build-a-Bear (2018 Women’s de Tocqueville Chair)
Merry Mosbacher, Edward Jones
James Mosbacher, Edward Jones
Kathy Osborn, Region Business Council
Elizabeth Powitzky, Edward Jones
John Stupp, Stupp Bros, Inc.
Cheryl Walker, Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP

Past chairs:

1987: Lee M. Liberman
1988: David C. Farrell, Charles F. Knight, Lee M. Liberman and Sanford N. McDonnnell
1989: August A. Busch III, Richard J. Mahoney, William E. Maritz
1990: Clarence C. Barksdale, Mrs. Stephen F. Brauer, Benjamin F. Edwards III, Sam Fox
1991: Andrew N. Baur and Ted C. Wetterau
1992: Sam Fox
1993: Jean and Wells Hobler
1994: Carol and George H. Walker III
1995-1996: Mrs. Stephen F. Brauer
1997: Sam and Marilyn Fox
1998: Andrew B. Craig III and Virginia C. Craig
1999-2000: Jerry and Peggy Ritter
2001: Mrs. Stephen F. Brauer
2002: John E. and Barbara S. Jacob
2003: Jack and Debbie Thomas
2004: Shaun R. and Kelly Hayes
2005: Mrs. Stephen F. Brauer
2006: Stacey and Jim Weddle
2007: Patrick Stokes
2008: Ward and Carol Klein
2009: Arnold and Hazel Donald
2010: David and Lelia Farr
2011: Rich McClure and Sharon Buchanan-McClure
2012: Doug and Lynn Yaeger
2013: Walt and Nancy Galvin
2014-2015: John Stupp, Jr.
2016: Don Ross
2017: Dr. Tim Eberlein